Exposure

Being a lover of the outdoors, and British hill country especially (full scale mountaineering is not really for me though) a fair share of rain and wind can be encountered, and sometimes cold winds with snow in the winter.  Now I know it will be strange to confess to this, as every walker with a blog I have come across seems to dislike wet weather.  I’ll be quite direct and say that I actually enjoy being out in the open country in wild weather. This has mystified my family for years, this strange tendency to be off and out when everyone else wants to stay in.  If well prepared – at least in summer conditions – it should not be dangerous and I find it exhilarating to be out on those days when few others venture.  I will even head for a hill top or edge facing into the wind to get the full impact of the storm….

Exposure in winter can be a real danger when the famous wind chill factor strikes, making the temperature feel even colder than it really is.  Gloves are essential, and good protection and footwear.  Paths can be lost under snow and I don’t tend to go out when fresh snow is forecast.  Clear and calm conditions after snow can be wonderful.

Some of the Lakeland poets, I believe, were not hindered by wild weather either, so it may (or may not) put me in good company.  These days it seems rare to find any who will admit to such a weird liking, but here goes, I’m sticking my head above the parapet on this one.

Some of the popular areas such as the Lakes and Snowdonia are known for their changeable weather, so it is rather an advantage not to be put off by it.  Many people carry on with their walks despite protestations that they hate the weather – why not consider developing an attitude that at least tries to enjoy it?  The cloud effects, the streams and waterfalls, the added sense of atmosphere and mystery, the extra challenge of route finding, can all be seen in a positive light with the right attitude (or a stupid one if that’s how you persist in looking at it).

For me, there is fun in facing the elements and it gives added variety to the appreciation of our countryside if you refuse to be a fine weather only type.  One day I hope to go to Kinder Downfall on a really wet and windy day, to experience the spectacle of the waterfall being blown back into the air.  At least it will be memorable, and my guess is I won’t be completely on my own if I do get to see it.  I did once go to do the waterfalls walk in Ingleton, and there was so much water (due to snow melt as well as rain) in one of the streams that the path was flooded, so I could not see all the waterfalls, which was a pity after the effort of getting there.  I still enjoyed the walk, though.

It’s really a “win win situation” as I still love these outdoor places in fine weather too.  In fact my least favourite conditions for walking are hot and oppressive summer weather with heat haze spoiling the views.  I can’t see the good side of those conditions so easily.  Deserts do not appeal to me.

So far, with various attempts at blogging and tweeting and other on-line activities, I have kept things at a fairly low profile.  Being a Christian – and the sort that gives full authority to the Bible as the Word of God – it can be a bit like heading for straight for an exposed place in stormy weather.  But I am starting to realise that perhaps that;s exactly what I need to be prepared to do.   To be a real Christian always means taking a stand against the general flow, and it should be an honour and privilege to make known the greatness of the Lord Jesus.

Today, I went out on to the moors – just moderate rain and a light wind, and this lesson was impressed powerfully upon me.  As I headed through a sheltered area and out on to the open moors, I realised that there was effort involved in reaching the place I wanted to be to make the most of the conditions.  In our Christian lives too, the time comes when maybe the Lord really wants us to make a stand for Him.  It will involve effort and willingness to be exposed to all sorts of negative responses from the majority who are content to go with the flow of a modern, secular, value-less society.  Somehow I find facing these sort of things much less attractive, and certainly not exhilarating.  But maybe I should learn a lesson from myself and my attitude to the weather, and start being prepared to head for an exposed place as far as being a Christian is concerned, so that the message has at least one more chance to sound out among all the competing false messages in this often sad and needy world.

Perhaps I will start posting more frequently, with more direct messages.  Perhaps I will make more of my presence on twitter and facebook, where I have so far been very slow to generate contacts.  It would certainly be the right thing to do if it is what the Lord is seeking from me.  Out on the hills it is always good to have some rocks for shelter nearby if conditions go really get overpowering.  I am prepared to trust in them.  Why should I not trust in the “Rock of Ages” for support if things get tough when speaking up for the Truth?

Going unprepared into the hills in wild weather can be foolhardy and dangerous, but when prepared can lead to a whole new perspective which can be most rewarding.  Making a stand as a Christian is only for those who are prepared and know what they are letting themselves in for.   I have enough knowledge and preparation to be happy to do the first.  By now, I should have been ready to be more exposed as a Christian for years, but have been too shy and wary, and I feel ashamed.  It suggests shame concerning the Gospel of Christ, and that should never be the case.  After all, there is no wish to make a name or reputation for myself, but every wish to lift up the name of Jesus, which I have inwardly been wanting to do for so long, but so slow to put into action.

About andrewh00

Christian keen on the outdoors and photography.
This entry was posted in Articles of faith, Interlude and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment